To A Street Dog Which Died Two Days Back

images

“She would be there

On dark oppressive nights

When sleep wouldn’t come

And restlessness would pervade;

A small wavy figure

Caught in streetlight

Under the yawning sky

Wagging her tail

Looking up at me

 

She would then bark

And wag her tail more

And the night wouldn’t be

That lonely anymore

As peace would come

In quiet sleepy lore.

 

She died two days back

They took away her body

While I was away

She is no longer there

Under the streetlight

Wagging her tail

Looking up at me.

 

I miss her

Missed her more

Than I had thought

I ever would;

But while as I write this

I feel as if she is

Now here with me

In lasting wish

A joyful peace”

 

Leave a Reply

